Advice from a Tree

The Perfect Tree

Considering a great deal of inspiration in my life, including this blog, comes from trees, I thought it appropriate to share with you one of my favorite poems. I came across a guided journal while at Yellowstone National Park earlier this summer titled, “Advice from a Tree”, with Ilan Shamir’s poem written on the first page. It resonated so deeply with me that I shared it with everyone I came into contact with. Then, a couple weeks later, while at Oregon Caves National Park, I found the poem itself printed on beautiful cardstock, and I of course had to have it.

When I think about the words of this poem, it becomes clear to me that all the advice I’ll ever need can be gained from the insight of a tree. Trees are, in fact, one of the most beautiful symbols of life itself, while at the same time, a perfect metaphor of it as well. When I need to feel grounded and at peace, I look to the trees. When I need to feel adventurous and free, I run to the trees. When I need to feel renewed and rejuvenated, I seek out the trees. When I need someone to lean on, to whisper quiet words of advice, and to offer shade and shelter from the harsh elements of life, I turn to the trees. When I need to be reminded that change is constant, that change is good, that change is what allows new growth and opportunity to take place, and that all things in life have their cycles, I return to the trees. The trees never steer me wrong.

So read on, and take a little advice from a tree. I’m certain you won’t be disappointed.

Advice from a Tree, by Ilan Shamir

Dear Friend

Stand tall and proud
Sink your roots deeply into the earth
Reflect the light of your true nature
Think long term
Go out on a limb
Remember your place among all living beings
Embrace with joy the changing seasons
For each yields its own abundance
The energy and birth of spring
The growth and contentment of summer
The wisdom to let go the leaves in the fall
The rest and quiet renewal of winter

Feel the wind and the sun
And delight in their presence
Look up at the moon that shines down upon you
And the mystery of the stars at night
Seek nourishment from the good things in life
Simple pleasures
Earth, fresh air, light
Be content with your natural beauty
Drink plenty of water
Let your limbs sway and dance in the breezes
Be flexible
Remember your roots
Enjoy the view!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

